The first excavations on the site of Knossos were conducted in 1878 by Minos Kalokairinos, a Cretan merchant and antiquarian, who brought to light part of the magazines in the west wing of the palace and a section of the west facade. After Kalokairinos, several people attempted to continue the excavations: W.J. Stillman, the American Consul in Greece, H. Schliemann, the excavator of Mycenae, together with his collaborator W. Doerpfeld, M. Joubin, a French archaeologist and Arthur Evans, director of the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford. They all abandoned their efforts, not being able to purchase the land, due to the exaggerated demands of the owners. In 1898, when Crete became an independent state with Prince George as the Governor General, a law was established according which all the antiquities of the island were the property of the state. Thus, in 1900, the systematic excavation of the palace began under the direction of A. Evans. Work was interrupted in 1912-1914 by the Balkan Wars but was resumed in 1922 and continued until 1931, when the investigation of the West Court and the Minoan town was completed.
In the picture Arthur Evans
share your opinion of it with other travelers. Write