The building was erected in 1883 on the site of the Venetian barracks which had been destroyed and it was initially used as the Turkish barracks. It was designed by the empirical architect Ath. Moussis and originally was a uniform, oblong, wooden-roofed building. In the 1920's it was divided into three separate sectors and was completely rebuilt on the basis of plans made by D. Kyriakou, under the influence of the Late Neoclassicism. The floors and the roof were then reconstructed of concrete. The door of the church of St. Francis was incorporated in the north side of the central building.
Since their reconstruction, the three buildings have housed public services: the headquarters of the Herakleion Prefecture are housed in the easternmost building, the Courts of Justice in the middle and the Police Headquarters in the westernmost.
The three buildings house the offices of public services.