It is a monastery of 17th century, with repairs that were made during the ottoman occupation. It was abandoned during the revolution of 1821 and ransacked by the Turks. In 1834 it is repaired one more time: a new abbot' s quarters, a guest house and, in the turn of century, a new bell - tower were built. From 1897 onwards, there is also an ecclesiastical school there. St John the Theologian, around 1500. Portable icon of the Cretan School.
The Last Judgement. Work of Emmanuel Skordiles. 17th century. Portable icon of the Cretan School.
Manuscript on a parchment roll with the mass of St Basil, written on both sides. In fragments.
The Tree of Jesse. Portable icon, 1853.
The Story of Beauteaus Joseph. Portable icon, 1858.
The Hospitality of Abraham. Portable icon, 1855.
The Descent into Hades. Portable icon, 1855.
Zoodochos Pege (Fountain of Life), 17th century icon. Possibly a work of the important painter priest Emmanuel Skordiles of Chania.
Christ King of Glory.
St John the Precursor and scenes of his life. A templum icon, 1846.
It is a typical example of the orthodox monastical architecture. The rectangular precinct has a majestic gate. The Katholicon, which is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, has the form of the athonite triconch church with a chapel dedicated to the Transfiguration of Christ and a cemetery beneath the church. The Monastery owned olive-presses, stables, wine-presses and wine cellars.
The restoration and consolidation works in the complex were carried out by the 13th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities.
Although it is a monastery, it has a museum and receives many visitors.
The museum owns a collection of icons and a collection of codices.
Some of the most important exhibits are:
share your opinion of it with other travelers. Write